Man Of Steel

Standard

A couple of months ago, I bought the ‘new’ Superman-film, Man Of Steel. Until today, I had never seen it, though. I had heard that Zack Snyder’s reboot of the franchise was a decent film and I have loved Henry Cavill ever since I saw The Tudors. I had one opportunity to see the film on the bus when I was in the South of France and we (the pupils and my colleagues) came from an adventuretrack in the trees. However, it being quite warm and me not having had something to drink or eat for several hours, caused me to have a sunstroke. Result: I had to sleep on the busride home.

Tonight, I decided to finally watch Man Of Steel. Superman has never been my favourite superhero, but there is something about the new and improved superhero films. Christopher Nolan did a wonderful job on the Batman-series with Christian Bale. Ever since Batman Begins things started to change. There is still a lot of action in the so-called action movies (otherwise the name would be ridiculous), but directors went ahead and put soul and heart into them as well. Action movies are no longer solely about action and great fight scenes. People want to have a good story and complicated characters too.

This being said, the story of Superman is still the same story. He’s from another planet and he’s a weird guy on planet earth. Something happens and he has to save our world from extinction and somewhere in between he falls in love with Lois Lane (Amy Adams). Nothing new there. However, I do think that Clark Kent is a complicated character. He is more than just ‘the Alien’. He has different emotions to go through. Granted, we cannot always see these emotions. It is still Superman. He is a god to all people on earth. Just like Jor-El (Russell Crowe) told us in the film. Gods do not show emotion, so neither does Clark Kent or Henry Cavill. I still like him, though.

So, in short: Man Of Steel is a good action movie. If you are not a fan of the genre, don’t see it. However, if you have always been sceptical, but you would like to give these types of films another chance, Man Of Steel is a fine example to get you to enjoy them once more. The fight scenes, although a little big and over the top are great and the cast is amazing. And if this doesn’t convince you, I’ll just say that Henry Cavill is hot. (I’m actually quoting the film here, but I must say that I agree with the observation.)

Leave a comment